The best field service software, sorted honestly by who each tool fits

What is the best field service software for a small crew?

The right field-service software depends on how it works in the truck, whether the back office stays powerful without bloat, the shape of its pricing, and your crew size. Jobber publishes every figure and fits small crews; Housecall Pro leans on built-in tooling; ServiceTitan, Workiz and FieldPulse quote instead of publishing; Simpro Group is the option reported to span Australia, New Zealand, North America, the UK and Europe. Fieldwynn, built for small crews, is pre-launch — early access only.

Search “best field service software” and you get leaderboards — numbered lists, star scores, a winner crowned before you’ve said a word about your business. The trouble is that the tool that wins for a two-van lawn crew is routinely the wrong pick for a thirty-tech HVAC shop, and a leaderboard can’t hold both. So this is a teardown. It is organized around the four things that actually decide the question for a small-to-medium operator, and each tool earns a fair, sourced verdict against them: strengths and documented failure modes both.

A stake worth naming before you weigh a single verdict. We publish the free calculators this teardown leans on, and we are also building the field-service app the page closes with, Fieldwynn. That makes this roundup something other than a disinterested referee: it has a horse in the race, and you deserve to know which one before the verdicts start. The discipline that keeps those verdicts trustworthy anyway is fixed — each vendor’s dollar figures trace to that vendor’s own dated pricing page, each documented failure mode links to a named review you can reopen, and any figure a vendor won’t publish is written as “request a quote” rather than invented. Where a vendor’s page would not open for us at all, that is what the row says, in those words. Fieldwynn, still unbuilt, answers to that same rule: no price, no feature, nothing to cite until it ships.

The four axes that decide it

Comparing these platforms feature-by-feature is how you end up paralyzed, because the marketing pages are built to make that comparison inconclusive. Four axes cut through it, and all four are things you can answer about your own shop today:

  • The field app. How the tool feels for the tech in the truck — minimal taps, reliability on a phone, whether real edits happen on-site or get bounced to a desktop.
  • Back-office power without bloat. Scheduling, routing, billing, recurring work — and whether the vendor keeps that useful or lets it balloon into an everything-drawer you can’t get support for.
  • Pricing shape and transparency. Not just the sticker: per-seat versus flat, what’s gated to higher tiers, the fee on every card, and the contract you’re signing.
  • Fit by crew size. The right tool at three techs is regularly the wrong tool at thirty.

Hold those four in mind and the field sorts itself quickly. Here is where each buyable tool lands, including two that US roundups routinely skip.

The six platforms at a glance. Pricing posture from each vendor's own pricing page: the first four retrieved 2026-06-29 and re-checked 2026-08-22, FieldPulse read 2026-08-23, and Simpro's page did not load for us on 2026-08-23. The 'documented catch' summarizes cited user reviews for the four platforms we hold dated review evidence on; the last two rows carry no review-based verdict.
PlatformBest fitPricing you can seeThe documented catch
JobberSmall crews, solo to ~15 seatsEvery figure postedKey features gated to higher tiers; extra-cost add-ons
Housecall ProSmall-to-mid crews wanting built-in toolingBase yes; some seat and fee figures not publishedFeature creep, support reach, post-cancel billing complaints
ServiceTitanLarger commercial / residential operationsNo — request a quoteEnterprise cost; annual contract with steep exit fees
WorkizDispatch-led small-to-mid crewsNothing published — every plan reads “Request pricing”Whole bill behind a quote; app-stability reports
FieldPulseVendor-stated: growing crews, with multi-location and API on EnterpriseNothing published — every plan reads "Request Pricing"Seats bought upfront for a contract term the page never states
Simpro GroupOperators in Australia, NZ, North America, the UK and Europe (three brands)Not verified — its pricing page would not load for usNo citable pricing and no dated review record on this page

Axis 1 — The field app: does it work in the truck?

Start with the field app. Your techs touch it far more than you touch the back office, and if it fights them in the driveway, adoption dies and the data you were paying for never gets entered. That’s the axis to weigh first. One scoping note before the verdicts: this axis and the next rest on dated, named user reviews, and we hold those for four of the six platforms. FieldPulse and Simpro, added further down, take no verdict here for that reason.

The sharpest complaints here land on Workiz. One operator reviewing it on Capterra called the mobile app “extremely buggy, barely useable,” and a Software Advice reviewer reported that “the app frequently froze or crashed, requiring us to force close and restart regularly” — the kind of instability that’s genuinely costly when a tech is standing in front of a customer mid-job. Workiz’s dispatch-led workflow is a real draw, but the app that carries it into the field is where its reviews get roughest.

Jobber’s app is far steadier, and its complaints are narrower. One Capterra reviewer noted that “making changes to existing jobs schedules can be difficult on the App,” which pushes live dispatch edits back to the desktop — a narrow, workable friction point. Housecall Pro draws mostly small mobile gripes; a reviewer flagged that attaching photos in the app is “a hit or miss situation,” which matters if your invoices lean on job pictures, but nothing systemic surfaces. ServiceTitan has the most capable field app of these four on paper, though even there a Capterra reviewer cautioned that “the mobile application built has limited capability compared to the desktop version” — the enterprise tool keeps its full power on the desktop, so the truck sees a trimmed version.

Axis 2 — Back-office power without the bloat

The back office is where scheduling, routing, billing, and recurring work either compound into leverage or curdle into an everything-drawer nobody can navigate. The failure mode to watch is bloat: features piled on faster than they’re fixed, and support you can’t reach when one breaks.

Housecall Pro is the cautionary tale here. One reviewer, writing in 2023, described a product where the vendor keeps adding new features and never fixes the old ones, becoming “a bandaid upon bandaid.” The complaint has years behind it: back in 2016 a Capterra reviewer was already asking Housecall Pro to spend less time “building new features” and more time “tweaking existing features” — the same pattern, seven years apart. Pair that with reachability: one owner reported that Housecall Pro is “non reachable when you have an issue” once you’re past the sale. The built-in tooling is real and it’s why crews pick HCP, but the back office asks for trust it doesn’t always repay.

ServiceTitan sits at the opposite end — genuinely deep, and heavy to match. A reviewer praised the platform’s breadth while warning of the “Learning Curve for New Users,” because “the system is very extensive.” That depth is exactly the point for a large operation with staff to run it, and exactly the tax for a crew of five. Workiz is competent at the core dispatch workflow, but the back-office edges fray: a Capterra reviewer called its CRM “not fluid” and slow to navigate, and another reported “extensive QuickBooks sync issues that skewed our financial reporting” — a serious problem when your books depend on that sync landing clean. Jobber keeps its back office lean and largely dodges the bloat trap; its recurring knock is reach rather than features — “It is hard to get ahold of support sometimes,” as one Capterra reviewer put it.

Axis 3 — Pricing shape, and what they’ll actually show you

Price is a shape. Two crews on the same headcount can pay wildly different bills depending on how a vendor meters seats, what it gates behind a tier, the cut it takes on every card, and the contract it locks you into. This is the axis where the marketing and the money drift furthest apart.

Jobber is the most transparent of the six, because it hides nothing — though it does ask a question before it answers. Its pricing page opens with a team-size selector, and both the price and the users included move with the band you pick, so a plan name alone is not a price. For a solo operator, annual-prepaid: Core $29/mo ($49 month-to-month), Connect $99 ($139), Grow $149 ($199); Plus is not sold to solo operators. For a crew of two to five, all including five users: Connect $149 ($199), Grow $229 ($299), Plus $399 ($499); Core is not sold above solo. At eleven to fifteen users, Plus is $529/mo ($699). Sixteen or more, and every plan switches to “Contact Sales” with no figure at all. Beyond the users your band includes, every additional tech is a flat $29/user/mo — one number, easy to forecast as you hire, though crossing into the next band moves the base too. Processing is posted in full: 2.9% + $0.30 per card, 2.7% tap-to-pay, and 1% ACH with no fixed fee. The honest catch in that shape is gating — reviewers report “some of the best features are locked behind higher tiers, which can feel steep for a small business still growing,” and frustration at “putting key functionality behind additional fees” like in-platform messaging, with add-ons (a Marketing Suite at $99/mo, an AI Receptionist at $29/mo, a Pipeline at $49/mo) listed openly so you see the bill grow. To turn those plan numbers into your real monthly total, the Jobber pricing calculator layers seats, processing, and add-ons onto the base.

Housecall Pro costs more at the door and shows you less of the shape. Basic runs $59/mo annually ($79 month-to-month), Essentials $149/mo ($189), and Max $299/mo ($329). Essentials adds users at $100/user/mo and Max at $75/user/mo; Basic’s extra-seat price is still not published (as of August 2026). Card processing is published only as “as low as 2.59%” — an as-low-as floor most accounts land above — and the fixed per-transaction cents aren’t posted at all, so your effective rate may sit higher than the headline. Two BBB complaints add a sharper caution about the exit than the pricing page ever will: operators there describe being charged after cancelling and struggling to stop recurring billing (both complaints marked “Answered” by the company). None of that ranks HCP below its tooling — it’s simply cost you should get in writing first. The Housecall Pro pricing calculator prices the published figures and flags the unpublished ones so you know exactly what to ask sales.

ServiceTitan publishes three tier names — Starter, Essentials, and The Works — and not one dollar figure behind them; each reads “Request Pricing”. The only pricing claim it makes about itself is the shape: “our per-technician pricing is designed to fit your business and goals, at any size”. Annual contracts and a separate implementation fee are widely reported by third parties, but neither appears on ServiceTitan’s own page, so treat them as unconfirmed until they are in your quote. Reviewers are blunt about the total: “Program is extremely expensive,” one wrote on Capterra. And the exit can be the real story — one BBB reviewer described being “charged $37,000 after having to leave the system” plus add-on phone service at “$80–100 per month on top of their already high fees,” while a separate BBB reviewer put the buyout at “FORTY THOUSAND DOLLARS TO END THE CONTRACT.” That structure fits a larger operation with the volume to absorb it and rarely a crew of two to ten. You will find confident per-tech ranges for ServiceTitan on third-party sites; none come from ServiceTitan, so none appear here.

Workiz is the opaque one. It lists three plans — Standard, Pro, and Ultimate — with full feature lists and not a single number. Every plan shows a “Request pricing” button where a price would go, and so does every row of Workiz’s own “Compare plans and features” table: no base price, no seat count, no per-seat fee, no processing rate. That gap draws heat in the reviews: one Capterra operator called the pricing “deceptive” with “hidden fees at every step,” and the same reviewer who found the app “extremely buggy, barely useable” reported a billing sting of their own — after cancelling an add-on, the company “flat out refused to refund.” So budget Workiz from a real quote; a blog that guessed the base figure the vendor itself declines to state is the kind of source this teardown won’t rest on.

Two platforms this teardown was missing

Four platforms priced in US dollars is a US-shaped shortlist, and until this update that is all this page was. Two names widen it. FieldPulse meters seats in two classes, a split none of the published models above use, and that changes how a crew should price it. Simpro Group is a family of brands whose own 2026 rollout is described in terms of Australia, New Zealand, North America, the UK and Europe — a spread that reaches both the markets where a US-priced shortlist quietly stops being useful and the one the rest of this page is priced for. Both belong here, and both come with a limit worth stating before you read their rows: this page prints only what it can cite, and for these two the citable record is thinner. We hold no dated, named user reviews for either, so neither takes a verdict on the field app or the back office. What we can report is the pricing posture each vendor takes about itself, which is the axis where both matter most to a decision today.

FieldPulse publishes three tiers, Essentials, Professional and Enterprise, and not one dollar figure behind them: the first two read “Request Pricing”, Enterprise reads “Talk to Our Team” (its pricing page, read 23 August 2026). What it does publish is the shape, and the shape is unusual enough to matter. In its own words, “FieldPulse is seat-based. You purchase a set number of seats upfront for your contract term, and the rate depends on what each seat needs access to.” The page names two seat classes, “Full access seats and limited field seats”, without pricing either. That split is genuinely different from a flat per-user fee: a shop where four techs only ever touch the phone and one person runs the office should price very differently under it than under Jobber’s flat $29/user/mo, and without the two seat rates there is no way to tell which way the difference runs. Two commitments are folded into that one sentence as well: seats are bought upfront, and they are bought for a contract term whose length the page never gives. The page also lists eight optional add-ons (Engage, Operator AI, Chat AI, Pricebook, FieldPulse Payments, FieldPulse Financing, Fleet Tracking and Custom Forms) with no price against any of them, and mentions no free trial anywhere. So take five questions into that quote: the rate for each seat class, the minimum seat count, the term length and what happens at renewal, the processing rate on FieldPulse Payments, and which of those eight add-ons your workflow quietly requires.

Simpro Group is the commonwealth-shaped hole in this teardown’s own coverage. It is a group of field-service brands rather than a single product, and when it launched its Lightning platform in May 2026 the rollout was reported as spanning “Simpro Lightning (Australia, New Zealand, North America, U.K.), AroFlo Lightning (Australia and New Zealand) and BigChange Lightning (UK and Europe)” (Landscape Management, 15 May 2026, corroborated independently by SecurityInfoWatch, 14 May 2026). That regional spread is the whole reason it belongs on a page read from Brisbane, Auckland, Manchester or Cork — and, because both reports place Simpro Lightning in North America too, on one read from Denver or Calgary. Every figure above is a US-dollar price off a US pricing page, and a shortlist that never leaves that set is a shortlist built for one country.

What this page cannot do is price it. Simpro’s own pricing page refused our request on 23 August 2026, returning a 403 on all four regional URLs we tried, so we have no vendor-published figure to report and no basis for characterizing its plans, its seat model or its contract terms. Third-party sites will happily hand you a per-user range for it. The rule that keeps invented ServiceTitan numbers off this page keeps those off it too.

Lining up the pricing pages

Here is every small-crew figure these six vendors publish, with the gaps marked rather than filled. Two of the six post a base price you can plan from; three route you to a quote, and one would not load for us at all.

Published small-crew pricing. Annual-billed rate first, month-to-month in parentheses. Jobber prices by team-size band, so its columns show the rate for that crew size. Source: each vendor's own pricing page, retrieved 2026-08-22, except FieldPulse (read 2026-08-23) and Simpro (page returned 403 to us on 2026-08-23). Blank figures are marked, never estimated.
PlatformSolo (1 seat)Around 5 seatsExtra seatCard processing
JobberCore $29/mo annual ($49 m2m), 1 userConnect $149/mo annual ($199 m2m), 5 users$29/user/mo beyond the band, flat on every plan2.9% + $0.30 per transaction
Housecall ProBasic $59/mo annual ($79 m2m)Essentials $149/mo annual ($189 m2m), 5 seats$100/user/mo on Essentials, $75/user/mo on Max; not published on BasicAs low as 2.59% (a floor); fixed per-transaction fee not published
ServiceTitanNot published — request a quoteNot published — request a quoteNot published — request a quoteNot published — request a quote
WorkizNot published — request pricingNot published — request pricingNot published on any planNot published — request a quote
FieldPulseNot published — "Request Pricing"Not published — "Request Pricing"Not published; seat-based across full-access and limited field seatsNot published (FieldPulse Payments is an unpriced add-on)
Simpro GroupNot verified — pricing page returned 403 on 2026-08-23Not verified — pricing page returned 403 on 2026-08-23Not verifiedNot verified

The split is stark, and it runs four to two against you: Jobber and Housecall Pro let you build a budget from the website, with Jobber showing more of the detail; ServiceTitan, Workiz and FieldPulse each route you to a quote for the figure that matters most; Simpro we could not read at all. When a quote does come back, price the published options against it first: the FSM true-cost calculator below builds the all-in monthly number, seats and card fees included, for the four vendors whose figures are on file, and that total rather than a plan sticker is the benchmark any quote has to beat. If a direct head-to-head helps, the Jobber vs Housecall Pro comparison runs the all-in math on the two most popular small-crew options, how Jobber and ServiceTitan compare head-to-head puts Jobber’s published bands next to ServiceTitan’s quote-only shape, and Housecall Pro vs ServiceTitan frames the jump from an SMB tool to an enterprise one.

Axis 4 — Fit by crew size

The last axis folds the first three into a single question: how big is your crew, today and a year from now? At one to fifteen seats, Jobber and Housecall Pro are the natural field — self-serve, plannable, no sales call required, with Jobber the easier of the two to budget and HCP the pick when its built-in tooling matches how you work. ServiceTitan is built for larger commercial and residential operations with the back office to run it and the volume to justify the contract. Workiz slots in for dispatch-heavy small-to-mid crews willing to request a quote for the base price. FieldPulse breaks by shape more than by headcount: its own page puts the advanced features on Professional “for growing businesses” and holds multi-location management and Open API access for Enterprise, so the tier line lands where your second location does rather than at a seat count. Simpro Group sorts by geography before size, since its brands are the ones with reported Australian, New Zealand, UK and European coverage, and for an operator outside North America that can settle the shortlist before crew size gets a say.

Because the right tool at three techs is regularly the wrong tool at thirty, each of these has its own deeper read that sorts the options by fit rather than ranking them: Jobber alternatives, Housecall Pro alternatives, ServiceTitan alternatives, and Workiz alternatives. One pricing shape sits outside this teardown entirely, because it does not sell seats: Service Fusion versus Jobber takes a flat per-company rate with unlimited users against per-seat billing, on both vendors’ own published pricing, and computes the crew size where the cheaper of the two changes. Three trade-specific shortlists sit alongside this one and meter differently again: software built around a pest route and its compliance paperwork covers a vendor that bills on your active customer count, the lawn and landscape shortlist covers one that splits office licences from crew-member licences, and the pool-service set mostly meters per serviced pool rather than per seat. If you’re sizing this decision for a small shop specifically, the FSM-for-small-business hub collects the small-crew reads in one place, and if you’re already on a platform and weighing the move off it, the playbook on switching from Jobber walks the export, parallel-run and timing steps any exit takes.

Where the real cost hides — and how to find yours

The headline plan price is only the floor. Two lines move the real number more than the tier you pick: seats beyond the included count, and the fee on every card payment you take. A shop clearing $40,000 a month on cards hands Jobber roughly $1,160 a month in the 2.9% percentage fee alone — before the 30-cent-per-swipe line and before the subscription. At that volume, a single point on the processing rate is worth more over a year than the entire gap between two base plans, which is exactly why the advertised price and the real price drift apart, and why a tool chosen on sticker price can quietly be the more expensive one. To compare published processing rates side by side across all four priced vendors before you drive the calculator below, see the FSM payment-processing fee calculator.

The fix is to price each tool against your own numbers rather than the brochure’s. Drive the calculator below with your real headcount — including the techs you’ll add this year — and a typical month of card volume; it puts each vendor that posts a plan on the right tier, adds the seat and processing lines, and returns the real monthly total against the advertised one.

Two habits make whatever you pick pay off. First, watch your technician utilization — the software only earns its keep if it converts the office work it absorbs into more billable hours in the field. Second, fold the subscription into your overhead recovery rate so the tool becomes a line you’ve priced into every job and recovered in your rates. A platform that helps you bill maintenance on recurring billing and run clean flat-rate pricing can pay for itself several times over; one you bought on a feature grid and never configured is just another line item.

Fieldwynn — the field-service app we’re building

Time for that disclosure to earn out. Every failure mode this teardown surfaced — a field app that fights the tech in the truck, a back office that grows bloated instead of better, pricing whose real shape hides behind a quote or an add-on — is a problem we set out to solve when we started building Fieldwynn.

Fieldwynn is designed field-first: minimal taps to do the real job on a phone, in the driveway, with one hand, because the truck is the product’s center of gravity. The heavy back-office lifting — scheduling, routing, billing, records — is meant to run through an augmented browser, so the field app stays lean instead of turning into the everything-drawer several reviewers above are describing. It’s being built for small-to-medium crews from the start rather than retrofitted down from enterprise software, and it’s designed to be affordable for small teams and to cut the operational drag of a scattered stack — the spreadsheet, the whiteboard, the three half-used apps — down to one coherent system.

Here’s the part we hold to the same bar as the six tools above: there is no Fieldwynn price on this page, and not because we’re hiding one. There isn’t one yet. Fieldwynn is still being built, so it has no plan card, no processing rate, no feature you can click today, and nothing to buy. What it has is an early-access list. If the tool this teardown keeps circling is the one you wish you could already run, put your work email in below and you’ll be first when Fieldwynn reaches your trade.

That’s the honest verdict. The best field-service software is the one that fits how your crew works in the field, keeps its back office useful as you grow, shows you the pricing you need to plan, and suits your headcount today and a year out. Take your real crew size and a typical card month to the calculator, get any quote-only vendor’s numbers in writing before you sign, and match the tool to your operation rather than to someone else’s ranking. And if you’re reading this from outside North America, add one more line to that list: every price here is a US-dollar figure off a US pricing page, so ask for your own currency, your own processing rate, and the plan that is actually sold in your country before you treat any of it as your bill.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best field service software overall?
The honest answer is fit across four axes: how the field app works for the tech in the truck, whether the back office is powerful without bloat, the shape and transparency of the pricing, and your crew size. Jobber suits small crews that want fully published pricing; Housecall Pro suits crews that lean on its built-in tooling; ServiceTitan targets larger operations and prices per technician by quote; Workiz and FieldPulse both list plans and gate every figure behind a request; Simpro Group is the brand family reported to span Australia, New Zealand, the UK and Europe. Match the tool to how your crew actually works.
What is the cheapest field service software to start on?
On published entry pricing for a solo operator, Jobber is the lowest: Core is $29/mo billed annually ($49 month-to-month) against Housecall Pro Basic at $59/mo annual ($79 month-to-month). Note Jobber prices by team-size band, so a crew of five starts from Connect at $149/mo annual rather than the solo rate. ServiceTitan, Workiz and FieldPulse publish no base price at all, and Simpro's pricing page would not load for us, so none of the four can be compared on cost without a quote. Note that the entry plan is only the floor — extra seats and the fee on every card payment usually move the real bill more than the plan card does.
Which field service software has no contract or sales call?
Jobber and Housecall Pro both publish self-serve plans you can buy month-to-month without a sales call, though their lower advertised rates assume annual prepay. ServiceTitan is quote-only; annual contracts and implementation fees are widely reported but are not stated on its own page. Workiz lists its plans and gates every price behind a request, so you still talk to sales to get any usable number. FieldPulse is the same on price and goes further on commitment: its own page says you buy a set number of seats upfront for a contract term, though it never says how long that term is.
How much does FieldPulse cost?
FieldPulse does not publish a price. Its pricing page lists three tiers (Essentials, Professional and Enterprise) and puts a "Request Pricing" or "Talk to Our Team" button where every figure would go, so there is no base rate, seat price or processing rate to compare (read 23 August 2026). It does publish the shape: pricing is seat-based across two seat classes, full-access seats and limited field seats, and the page states that you buy a set number of seats upfront for a contract term whose length it doesn't give. Ask for the rate per seat class, the minimum seat count and the term before you compare it with a published plan.
What is the best field service software in the UK, Australia or New Zealand?
Every dollar figure on this page comes from a US pricing page, so treat those numbers as a shape rather than your bill and ask each vendor for local pricing and local card-processing rates. The vendor family with the widest reported regional footprint is Simpro Group, North America included: trade coverage of its May 2026 Lightning rollout describes Simpro Lightning in Australia, New Zealand, North America and the UK, AroFlo Lightning in Australia and New Zealand, and BigChange Lightning in the UK and Europe. We could not retrieve Simpro's pricing page, so no figure for it appears here.
Is enterprise field service software like ServiceTitan worth it for a small crew?
Usually not, on cost and setup grounds. ServiceTitan targets larger commercial and residential operations and prices per technician; annual contracts and implementation fees are widely reported (though not stated on its own page), and BBB reviewers describe steep buyout figures to exit early. For a crew of two to ten, price the self-serve tools first. Enterprise platforms are something you grow into; a self-serve tool is where you start.

Get early access

Fieldwynn is the field-first app we are building for small crews — simple in the truck, powerful in the back office. It is not out yet; join the early-access list and be first when it launches for your trade.