Florida Pool Contractor License: classes, exam, fees and renewal

Do you need a pool contractor license in Florida?

Yes, for most repair and construction work. Florida licenses three pool classes under s. 489.105(3): commercial pool/spa, residential pool/spa, and swimming pool/spa servicing contractors. The servicing class covers repair and servicing, not building a pool. Cleaning that does not affect structural integrity needs no license, but servicing a public pool requires certification under s. 514.075. The Construction Industry Licensing Board licenses; Professional Testing registers candidates and Pearson VUE administers the exam.

Most of the confusion about pool licensing in Florida comes from reading the names of the classifications instead of their scope text. “Pool contractor” sounds like a builder’s credential, so service operators assume it is not their problem, and then discover that Chapter 489 wrote a classification specifically for them. Florida is unusual that way: the statute names servicing as its own contracting class, which is the finding that makes this state different from most of the map in the pool service license by state guide. This page is the Florida detail that the matrix row cannot hold.

Who is telling you this, and why: Fieldwynn is a field-service app for small pool crews, we are building it, and it has not launched. The step at the foot of this page is an early-access email ask, not a purchase. Read it as a funnel. Every Florida figure below is quoted from a statute, a rule in the Florida Administrative Code, or a DBPR page, and linked back to it.

Which Florida pool license covers which work

Section 489.105(3) defines three pool classifications, and they nest. Read the scope column, not the name.

The three pool contractor classifications defined in s. 489.105(3), Florida Statutes, quoted from the statute and read on 12 September 2026.
ClassificationStatutory scopeThe operator read
Commercial pool/spa contractor, s. 489.105(3)(j)“A contractor whose scope of work involves, but is not limited to, the construction, repair, and servicing of any swimming pool, or hot tub or spa, whether public, private, or otherwise, regardless of use.” It also includes the scope of work of a swimming pool/spa servicing contractor.The widest class. Public and commercial pools, construction included. Nothing below it lets you build a commercial pool.
Residential pool/spa contractor, s. 489.105(3)(k)“A contractor whose scope of work involves, but is not limited to, the construction, repair, and servicing of a residential swimming pool, or hot tub or spa, regardless of use”, with the same equipment, interior finishes and perimeter piping scope.Building and full-scope work on residential pools. The class a backyard pool builder sits in.
Swimming pool/spa servicing contractor, s. 489.105(3)(l)“A contractor whose scope of work involves, but is not limited to, the repair and servicing of a swimming pool, or hot tub or spa, whether public or private, or otherwise, regardless of use.” Scope covers repair or replacement of existing equipment, interior refinishing, reinstallation or addition of pool heaters, perimeter and filter piping, and substantial or complete draining for repair or renovation.The route operator’s class. Repair and servicing, public or private pools, but the word construction is absent.

What a servicing contractor may not do

The absence is the point. Paragraph (l) opens with “the repair and servicing”, where paragraphs (j) and (k) open with “the construction, repair, and servicing”. A servicing contractor is not licensed to build a new pool or spa. The upgrade ladder in s. 489.111(2)(c)6 exists precisely because that boundary is real: an active certified swimming pool servicing contractor becomes eligible for a certified residential swimming pool contractor license with 3 years of proven experience in the classification held and the residential exam, and for a certified commercial license with 4 years and the commercial exam.

Two other limits apply to all three classes. The scope of such work does not include direct connections to a sanitary sewer system or to potable water lines. And the statute draws the cleaning line explicitly, which is the paragraph a service route should read twice:

  • Licensed scope includes “any cleaning or equipment sanitizing that requires at least a partial disassembling, excluding filter changes”.
  • “In addition, a license is not required for the cleaning of the pool or spa in a way that does not affect the structural integrity of the pool or spa or its associated equipment.”
  • “The installation, construction, modification, or replacement of equipment permanently attached to and associated with the pool or spa for the purpose of water treatment or cleaning of the pool or spa requires licensure; however, the usage of such equipment for the purposes of water treatment or cleaning does not require licensure unless the usage involves construction, modification, or replacement of such equipment.”
  • “Water treatment that does not require such equipment does not require a license.”

So a weekly brush, skim, vacuum and test route is not contracting. Pulling apart a filter or a salt cell, swapping a pump, or replacing a heater is. Most real routes cross that line within a season, which is why the servicing classification exists.

The specialty licenses underneath

Rule 61G4-15.032, F.A.C., provides for the voluntary certification of swimming pool specialty contractors in seven categories: layout, structural, excavation, trim, decking, piping and finishes. Each is a separate license, they must work under contract and under the supervision of a contractor licensed under s. 489.105(3)(j) to (l), and holding all seven does not add up to a pool contractor license. DBPR states the commercial consequence bluntly: a specialty holder may not contract directly with the public, only with a licensed commercial or residential pool/spa contractor, or a licensed swimming pool/spa servicing contractor. Since 1 July 2022 an unlicensed person may perform that specialty work without a local specialty license if supervised by a contractor certified or registered under those paragraphs.

One more specialty name circulates and it is not one of those seven. DBPR’s construction FAQ still describes a “certified residential pool/spa servicing specialty contractor’s license” as “a certified (state wide) specialty license developed by the Construction Industry Licensing Board to permit contractors to repair and servicing residential pools, spas and hot tubs”, and says its holder “may contract directly with consumers for residential pool/spa servicing services that are within the scope of the residential pool/spa servicing specialty contractor license”. That is the opposite of the rule 61G4-15.032 specialties, which may only contract with a licensed pool contractor. There is a complication we will not paper over: the rule that created it, 61G4-15.040, F.A.C., Certification of Residential Pool/Spa Servicing Specialty Contractors, carries the history line “New 6-22-14, Repealed 5-5-24”, and the retrieved rule document contains no remaining scope-of-work text. So a DBPR page describes a credential whose authorising rule was repealed on 5 May 2024. We are not going to reconcile the department’s own documents for it. If that licence is the one you were planning to apply for, ask the Construction Industry Licensing Board directly what is issued today before you pay an application fee.

The exam and the application path

Florida splits the trades into two divisions. Division II contractors, which is every specialty including pool, must pass two examinations: Business and Finance, and General Trade Knowledge, against three for Division I. The pool exams as published in the July 2024 candidate booklet:

Pool examination parts as published in DBPR's Construction Candidate Information Booklet effective July 2024, read on 12 September 2026. All are daily computer-based testing.
ExaminationScored questionsTime
Business & Finance Service Pool603.5 hours
Pool, Commercial805 hours
Pool, Residential805 hours
Pool, Service605 hours

The pass mark is published and worth knowing before you book: “All questions are equally weighted. Examination scores are reported as percentage scores. The minimum percentage score needed to pass has been set at seventy percent (70%). Scores on the construction exams are NOT rounded to the nearest percent.”

Two vendors are involved and applicants routinely contact the wrong one first. DBPR has contracted with Professional Testing, Inc., to register candidates, develop, and score the CILB examinations, and “Individuals desiring to sit for construction trade knowledge, contract administration, project management, or business & finance examination parts are required to apply directly with Professional Testing, Inc.” Completed applications and fees must reach Professional Testing no later than 30 days before the examination date. Once Professional Testing approves you, you schedule your seat with Pearson VUE, the department’s examination vendor, which schedules, administers, scores and reports computer-based testing. Apply to Professional Testing first, book with Pearson VUE second, then file the license application with DBPR after you pass.

Experience, and the routes in

Section 489.111(2) makes a person eligible for licensure by examination if the person is 18 years of age, is of good moral character, and meets one of the listed eligibility criteria. The criteria that matter to pool applicants:

  • Four years of trade experience. “A total of at least 4 years of active experience as a worker who has learned the trade by serving an apprenticeship”, of which “at least 1 year of active experience shall be as a foreman”. This is the headline route and the one most people mean by “four years”.
  • Degree plus one year. “Has received a baccalaureate degree from an accredited 4-year college in the appropriate field of engineering, architecture, or building construction and has 1 year of proven experience in the category in which the person seeks to qualify.” The statute adds that “a minimum of 2,000 person-hours shall be used in determining full-time equivalency”, so the year is measured in hours, and the experience has to be in the category you are applying for.
  • Education and experience combined. Subparagraph (2)(c)3 sets out three combinations, and the middle one is routinely misquoted because it carries a skilled-worker year as well as a foreman year: not less than 1 year as a foreman plus not less than 3 years of accredited college-level credits; or not less than 1 year as a skilled worker, 1 year as a foreman, and not less than 2 years of credits; or not less than 2 years as a skilled worker, 1 year as a foreman, and not less than 1 year of credits. “All junior college or community college-level courses shall be considered accredited college-level courses.”
  • The servicing route. For the servicing class specifically, “An applicant is eligible to receive a certified swimming pool/spa servicing contractor license after passing or having previously passed the swimming pool/spa servicing contractors’ examination if he or she has satisfactorily completed 60 hours of instruction in courses related to the scope of work covered by that license and approved by the Construction Industry Licensing Board by rule and has at least 1 year of proven experience related to the scope of work of such a contractor.”

That last route is the one a working pool tech should read first. Sixty hours of board-approved instruction plus one year of relevant experience is a materially shorter path than four years of apprenticeship, and it lands you in the classification that matches a service route. From there the ladder is 3 more years to residential and 4 to commercial, each with its own exam.

If you hold a swimming pool specialty license instead, the rule sets its own bar: four years of experience in that specialty category, age 18, good moral character, and either a written examination or, after 3 hours of board-approved CE covering workplace safety, business practices and workers’ compensation, a practical examination in lieu of the written one.

Financial responsibility, credit score and insurance

Florida checks your balance sheet as well as your trade knowledge. Section 489.115 requires an applicant to furnish a credit report from a nationally recognized credit agency that reflects the financial responsibility of the applicant, and the board’s rule turns that into two separate tests.

Rule 61G4-15.006, F.A.C., as amended 5 May 2024, makes financial responsibility a question of the report itself: the board refuses to qualify an applicant who fails to provide a current consumer credit report that does not disclose any unsatisfied judgments or liens against the applicant, and there must be no unsatisfied judgments or liens against the business entity the applicant previously qualified or has applied to qualify. Financial stability is the score: failure to provide proof of “a credit score, FICO derived, of 660 or higher” is a ground for refusal, and the published alternative is completion of “a 14-hour financial responsibility course approved by the Board”. If your score is short, that course is the documented route, not an informal workaround.

Insurance has a number attached to the classification. Rule 61G4-15.003, F.A.C. requires a signed affidavit at initial issuance, at renewal, and on a change of status, attesting that the applicant has obtained and will maintain public liability and property damage insurance, and its table sets a Pool Contractor at $100,000 liability and $25,000 property damage, against $300,000 and $50,000 for General and Building Contractors. Three details in that rule cost people licenses. The certificate holder must be the State of Florida, Department of Business and Professional Regulation, the Construction Industry Licensing Board. The insurance must at all times be carried in the name of the licensee. And the board runs random sample audits by zip code, giving a selected licensee thirty days from the mailing of the request to produce an original certificate of insurance or an acceptable equivalent.

Those are statutory minimums, not a commercial recommendation. What an HOA, a hotel management company or your own lender requires in a contract is routinely higher, and this page does not quote premium figures because none is published by the state. What a pool service business needs to insure covers the coverages behind those limits, including the chemical exposure a standard small-business package was not written around, and how commercial pool contracts get won sets out what each kind of venue asks for alongside the certificate.

What the state charges

Only the board’s own fee rule is quoted here. Nothing in this table came from a third-party site.

Fees prescribed by Rule 61G4-12.009, F.A.C. (rule history: amended 30 October 2017), read on 12 September 2026. These are the fee rule's amounts. Where a DBPR page states a different figure, both are named in the rows below. Course fees, credit report fees and insurance premiums are set by other parties and are not listed because the state does not publish them.
FeeAmountWhen it lands
Application and examination, certification$335 total, nonrefundable (rule amount)Split by the rule as $135 on scheduling the tests, $80 per test administered, and $40 for application processing after you pass. The $80 is the rule’s administration amount: DBPR’s candidate booklet states that CBT fees through Pearson VUE increased effective 3 January 2023 and links a current fee list, so confirm what Pearson VUE charges today
Retake after a failure or a no-show$135 plus $80 per test (rule amount)Paid on scheduling the next test or tests, nonrefundable. Same 3 January 2023 CBT fee caveat applies to the administration component
Application for registration$100The local-competency route rather than the statewide examination route
Initial certification or registration fee for registrants$200$100 if remitted within the second year of a biennium, for that partial period only
Biennial renewal, active$200Every two years, per licensee
Biennial renewal, inactive status$50Every two years while inactive
Business organization, application and initial issue$50Plus $50 biennial renewal in the rule. Note the conflict: DBPR’s FAQ states that “As of October 1, 2009, qualified business licenses are no longer required” and that you are not required to renew or maintain one
Delinquency fee$25Under s. 455.271(7), F.S.
Change of licensure status off-cycle$50Also $50 to transfer a license from one business entity to another. DBPR’s FAQ separately states the fee to become inactive outside a renewal period is $50 and that there is no fee to become inactive during one
Reactivation of an inactive license$100 in the rule, $250 per DBPRRule 61G4-12.009(6) sets $100; DBPR’s construction FAQ answers “What is the application fee for a contractor to reactivate outside of a renewal period?” with “The fee is $250.00.” Both are quoted here rather than reconciled. Reinstating a null and void license is $100 in the rule

Budget the whole path rather than the headline. A servicing applicant taking the 60-hour route pays for that instruction, then the rule’s $135 plus $80 per test to sit, then $40 on approval, then $200 at the first biennial renewal. Two of those numbers need checking on the day rather than trusting: the per-test administration amount sits with Pearson VUE, whose CBT fees the candidate booklet says increased effective 3 January 2023, and the course price is set by the provider, not the state. If you are sizing the whole launch, the pool service startup cost calculator has somewhere to put these lines alongside truck, chemicals and insurance.

Renewal and continuing education

Certificates and registrations renew every 2 years, and each licensee must complete at least 14 classroom hours of at least 50 minutes each of continuing education during each biennium, 1 hour of which must deal with laws and rules. The statute also directs a portion of those hours to workers’ compensation, business practices, workplace safety, and, for applicable categories, wind mitigation methodologies.

DBPR publishes the breakdown and the dates. All contractors must have, as part of the 14 hours, at least one hour in each of Workplace Safety, Workers’ Compensation, Business Practices, Advanced Module Building Code, and Laws and Rules. And the two license types renew in alternate years: certified contractors on 31 August of every even-numbered year, registered contractors on 31 August of every odd-numbered year. That alternation is easy to get wrong if you moved from registration to certification, and a lapse gets expensive: the rule’s $25 delinquency fee at best, and on reactivation outside a renewal period the rule says $100 while DBPR’s FAQ says $250. Ask which applies before you assume the cheaper one.

Public pools: the s. 514.075 service technician certification

This is the rule most service operators miss, because it lives in a different chapter and a different agency. Section 514.075, F.S., allows the Department of Health to require that a public pool be serviced by a person certified as a pool service technician, covering competency in pool cleaning, general pool maintenance, source of the water supply, bacteriological, chemical and physical quality of water, and water purification, testing, treatment and disinfection procedures.

The Department of Health states the requirement in its own words: an individual who services a public pool by maintaining the cleanliness, water quality, and chemical balance of public pools shall be certified, through a minimum 16 hour training course of national recognition approved by the Department plus a Department-approved test. Public pools are regulated under Chapter 64E-9, Florida Administrative Code.

Two carve-outs decide who actually needs it. The statute deems certified any individual certified by a course of national recognition or any person licensed under s. 489.105(3)(j), (k), or (l), and the requirement does not apply to a person, or the direct employee of a person, permitted as a public pool operator under s. 514.031. In plain terms: your Chapter 489 pool contractor license already answers the s. 514.075 question, and a facility’s own staff are covered by the facility’s permit. A tech with neither, servicing HOA, hotel, apartment or municipal water, needs the certification. The nationally recognised course route is where the PHTA credential fits, and the certified pool operator (CPO) hub covers that credential, its course and its renewal clock in detail.

Certification, registration, and what your county still wants

Florida runs two tiers and they are not interchangeable. A person who desires to engage in contracting on a statewide basis establishes competency and qualifications to be certified; a person contracting on other than a statewide basis is registered. Section 489.105(3) defines the certified contractor as one who “possesses a certificate of competency issued by the department and who shall be allowed to contract in any jurisdiction in the state without being required to fulfill the competency requirements of that jurisdiction.” The registered contractor is one “who has registered with the department pursuant to fulfilling the competency requirements in the jurisdiction for which the registration is issued. Registered contractors may contract only in such jurisdictions.” That closing sentence is the whole difference: certification buys you out of every local competency test, registration does not travel.

DBPR restates it operationally: pass the Florida contractor’s examination and apply for initial certification and your licensure allows you to work throughout the state, whereas a local, county or city contracting license leads to state registration and you may only practice contracting in that county or city, along with any adjoining locales that will accept your registration.

State certification does not clear your county paperwork. A certificateholder must still exhibit evidence of the current certificate to the local building official and pay the fee for the occupational license and building permit required of other persons. What the local business tax receipt costs and what registration a given county or city demands varies by jurisdiction, and no figure is printed here because none was retrieved from a primary source. Ask the county before you take the first job, not after.

How to verify a Florida pool contractor license

Verify through the department that issued it. DBPR’s Licensing Portal license search searches by name, by license number, by city or county, and by license type. Three checks are worth making every time, whether you are a homeowner hiring, an operator subcontracting, or a buyer looking at a route:

  1. The classification, not just the status. A live license in the wrong class is the common and expensive surprise. A swimming pool/spa servicing contractor cannot build you a pool.
  2. The name on the license against the name on the contract. The insurance rule requires coverage carried in the name of the licensee, and a business organization is qualified separately.
  3. The renewal year. Certified renews in even years, registered in odd years, both on 31 August.

If you are buying a route rather than hiring one, the licence and its classification belong in the diligence file next to the customer list and the recurring revenue, and the pool service license by state guide covers what changes when that route crosses a state line.

What this page does not tell you

Some numbers people expect here are absent on purpose, because no primary source published them. There is no figure for the 60-hour board-approved instruction course, no figure for CE provider courses, no credit report cost, no insurance premium, no county business tax receipt amount, and no processing time for a DBPR application. Those are set by course providers, carriers, counties and workload, not by a rule we can quote. A plausible-looking invented number would be worse than the gap.

Nothing here is chemistry guidance either. Sanitizer targets, dosing and handling belong to the product label, Chapter 64E-9 and your training, not to a licensing page.

From a Florida license to a route that pays

The certificate is the entry ticket. What turns it into margin is pricing each visit for its real cost and drive time and holding the renewal and insurance dates that a lapse would cost you. Inspection and condition work is a good example of a service that reads as free goodwill and is actually billable: the pool inspection pricing calculator puts a number on it. If you are still at the planning stage, the pool service business plan template gives the licence, the exam, the insurance minimum and the biennial renewal somewhere to live as real line items, and moving accounts onto recurring billing is what stops revenue resetting at every visit. Operators who also run a pest or lawn division in Florida will find a different agency and a different statute waiting for them in the Florida pest control license guide.

When you are ready to run the licensed route, Fieldwynn is the field-service app we are building to carry scheduling, recurring billing, customer records and the renewal dates you cannot afford to let lapse: focused in the field, powerful in the back office. It has not launched, so the next step below is an early-access email ask, and the calculators and the licensing facts stay free either way.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a license to clean pools in Florida?
Not for cleaning alone. Section 489.105(3)(j) says a license is not required for the cleaning of the pool or spa in a way that does not affect the structural integrity of the pool or spa or its associated equipment, and that water treatment which does not require permanently attached equipment does not require a license. The line moves as soon as you open equipment: cleaning or equipment sanitizing that requires at least a partial disassembling, excluding filter changes, sits inside the licensed scope. Servicing a public pool is a separate question answered by s. 514.075.
What license do you need to service pools in Florida?
The narrowest fit is the swimming pool/spa servicing contractor under s. 489.105(3)(l), defined as a contractor whose scope of work involves the repair and servicing of a swimming pool, hot tub or spa, whether public or private. It does not carry construction of a new pool, which is what the residential pool/spa and commercial pool/spa classifications in paragraphs (k) and (j) add. If your route includes public pools, the Florida Department of Health separately requires that an individual who services a public pool by maintaining its cleanliness, water quality and chemical balance shall be certified.
How much does a Florida pool contractor license cost?
Rule 61G4-12.009, F.A.C., sets a nonrefundable application and examination fee of $335 for certification, split as $135 paid on scheduling the tests, $80 per test administered, and $40 for processing the application after you pass. Registration has a $100 application fee. Biennial renewal is $200 for an active certificate or registration and $50 on inactive status, and qualifying a business organization is $50 to apply and $50 to renew. Those are the department's fee-rule amounts only. Course fees, credit report fees and insurance premiums are set elsewhere and this page does not quote figures for them.
How many years of experience do you need for a Florida pool contractor license?
Section 489.111(2)(c) runs several routes. One requires a total of at least 4 years of active experience as a worker who has learned the trade by serving an apprenticeship, at least 1 year of it as a foreman. Another accepts a baccalaureate degree from an accredited 4-year college in engineering, architecture or building construction plus 1 year of proven experience. Combination routes trade college credits against foreman and skilled worker time. For the servicing class specifically, an applicant is eligible after 60 hours of board-approved instruction related to that scope of work plus at least 1 year of proven experience.
What insurance does Florida require for a pool contractor license?
Rule 61G4-15.003, F.A.C., requires a signed affidavit that the applicant has obtained and will maintain public liability and property damage insurance, and its table sets a Pool Contractor at $100,000 liability and $25,000 property damage aggregate, against $300,000 and $50,000 for General and Building Contractors. The certificate holder must be the State of Florida, Department of Business and Professional Regulation, the Construction Industry Licensing Board, and the coverage must be carried in the name of the licensee. The Board runs random audits by zip code and gives a selected licensee thirty days to produce proof.
Does Florida check your credit score for a contractor license?
Yes. Rule 61G4-15.006, F.A.C., makes failure to provide proof of a credit score, FICO derived, of 660 or higher a financial stability ground for refusing to qualify an applicant, and separately requires a current consumer credit report that does not disclose any unsatisfied judgments or liens against the applicant or the business entity. There is a published alternative: an applicant who cannot provide a 660 or higher score meets the requirement by completing a 14-hour financial responsibility course approved by the Board.
When does a Florida pool contractor license renew, and how much CE is required?
Section 489.115 says a certificateholder or registrant renews every 2 years and must complete at least 14 classroom hours of at least 50 minutes each of continuing education during each biennium, with 1 hour on laws and rules. DBPR's construction FAQ states that certified contractors renew on August 31 of every even-numbered year and registered contractors on August 31 of every odd-numbered year, and that the 14 hours must include at least one hour each in Workplace Safety, Workers' Compensation, Business Practices, Advanced Module Building Code, and Laws and Rules.
What is the difference between a certified and a registered pool contractor in Florida?
Section 489.105(3) defines a certified contractor as one who possesses a certificate of competency issued by the department and who shall be allowed to contract in any jurisdiction in the state without being required to fulfill the competency requirements of that jurisdiction. A registered contractor is one who has registered with the department pursuant to fulfilling the competency requirements in the jurisdiction for which the registration is issued, and registered contractors may contract only in such jurisdictions. DBPR puts it plainly: passing the Florida contractor's examination and applying for initial certification lets you work throughout the state, while a local, county or city contracting license leads to state registration and you may only practice in that county or city plus adjoining locales that accept your registration.

Get early access

Fieldwynn is the field-first app we are building for small crews — simple in the truck, powerful in the back office. It is not out yet; join the early-access list and be first when it launches for your trade.